Overslaan en naar de inhoud gaan

NURETH 19: Lead the Flow!

From March 6-11 2022, SCK CEN and the von Karman Institute, in collaboration with NRG and ANS, hosted the 19th International Topical Meeting on Nuclear Reactor Thermal Hydraulics virtually from the Square, Brussels, Belgium.

Please fill in this web form to purchase the proceedings of the meeting.

Download the program book of the event here.
06/03/2022 - 11/03/2022


In the heart of Europe, cultures swirl together in a creative mix of art de vivre, know-how, heritage and surrealism. This creativity allowed us to respond flexibly to the challenges posed by COVID and continuously changing travel restrictions, resulting in the surrealistic but successful experience of organizing NURETH-19 in a virtual setting, with a small team on-site in Brussels for 710 participants connected on-line from 33 countries all over the world.

A total of 1035 abstracts submitted to the conference resulted – after a thorough review – in 614 papers accepted to the program, delivered in five very full days, spread over six parallel technical sessions11 excellent keynote speakers highlighted state-of-the-art developments in innovative areas. The Opening Plenary evolved around the conference’s main theme Lead the Flow.

The local organizing committee would like to thank the general chairs, chairs and members of the different conference committees, sponsors, technical team and all colleagues that have made this unique conference a success!


The program book of NURETH-19 is available for download here.

Belangrijke data

  • March 31, 2021: Submission of abstracts
  • April 30, 2021: Abstract acceptance
  • June 30, 2021: Draft paper submission
  • August 31, 2021: Paper review notification
  • September 30, 2021: Final paper submission


General Chairs

Hamid Aït Abderrahim, SCK CEN

Jean-Paul Chabard, EDF

Xiaodong Sun, University of Michigan

Honorary Chairs

Yassin Hassan, Texas A&M

Hisashi Ninokata, Politechnico di Milano

Michel Giot, UCLouvain

Technical Program Committee Chair

Elia Merzari, Penn State University

Technical Program Committee Co-chairs

W. David Pointer, ORNL

Chul-Hwa Song, KAERI

Ferry Roelofs, NRG

Technical Program Committee Assistant Chairs

Katrien Van Tichelen, SCK CEN

Philippe Planquart, VKI

Xiaojing Liu, SJTU

Hiroyuki Yoshida, JAEA

Mathieu Martin, Terrapower

Igor Bolotnov, NCSU

Steering Committee Chair

Steve Bajorek, US NRC

Honors & Award Committee Chair

Sofiane Benhamadouche, EDF

Local Organizing Committee Chairs

Katrien Van Tichelen, SCK CEN

Philippe Planquart, VKI

Ferry Roelofs, NRG


The proceedings of the meeting have been made available to all participants via the on-line meeting platform (ISBN 9789076971261 - publication date: March 6, 2022). They can be purchased from SCK CEN using the link to this contact form.

Deel dit evenement