Skip to main content

NURETH 19: Lead the Flow!

SCK CEN and the von Karman Institute, in collaboration with NRG and ANS, are very pleased to host the 19th International Topical Meeting on Nuclear Reactor Thermal Hydraulics (NURETH 19).

The unpredictable evolution of the COVID-19 pandemic and tightened restrictions are making it impossible to continue with a physical event. To allow for everyone to participate and all 650+ authors to present their work, the Local Organizing Committee has decided to move the meeting 100% virtual.

Official website:

06/03/2022 - 11/03/2022

Virtual meeting - please consult official website



“Nuclear reactor thermal hydraulics isn’t about going-with-the-flow. It is about mastering the flow, guaranteeing, understanding and predicting it for the safe operation of existing nuclear power plants and the development of new nuclear technologies. The International Topical Meeting on Nuclear Reactor Thermal Hydraulics is one of the premier gatherings for experts in nuclear reactor thermal hydraulics and related topical areas. The meeting is held every two years and cycles through the North America, Europe and Asia.

Can you already feel the positive energy? We do and we are ready to welcome you!”

Dates clés

  • March 31, 2021: Submission of abstracts
  • April 30, 2021: Abstract acceptance
  • June 30, 2021: Draft paper submission
  • August 31, 2021: Paper review notification
  • September 30, 2021: Final paper submission


General Chairs

Hamid Aït Abderrahim, SCK CEN
Jean-Paul Chabard, EDF
Xiaodong Sun, University of Michigan

Honorary Chairs

Yassin Hassan, Texas A&M
Hisashi Ninokata, Politechnico di Milano
Michel Giot, UCLouvain

Technical Program Committee Chair

Elia Merzari, Penn State University

Technical Program Committee Co-chairs

W. David Pointer, ORNL
Chul-Hwa Song, KAERI
Ferry Roelofs, NRG

Technical Program Committee Assistant Chairs

Katrien Van Tichelen, SCK CEN
Philippe Planquart, VKI
Xiaojing Liu, SJTU
Hiroyuki Yoshida, JAEA
Dillon Shaver, ANL
Igor Bolotnov, NCSU

Steering Committee Chair

Steve Bajorek, US NRC

Honors & Award Committee Chair

Sofiane Benhamadouche, EDF

Local Organizing Committee Chairs

Katrien Van Tichelen, SCK CEN
Philippe Planquart, VKI
Ferry Roelofs, NRG


Brussels is more than the capital of Belgium: it is the vibrant heart of Europe. In Brussels cultures swirl together in a creative mix of art de vivre, know-how, heritage and surrealism. It has everything to make your stay unforgettable.

Partager cet événement