Skip to main content

Bioinformatics

Combining computer science, statistics & mathematics to address biological research questions

2022_SCKCEN_Bioinformatics

About

Our Bioinformatics team is part of the Interdisciplinary Biosciences Expert Group (BIO).

Our research specialises in omics data analysis, algorithm & pipeline development, data mining and multi-omics data integration with the focus towards establishing solid processing methods and tools, to enable better understanding in the field of proteomics, & (meta-)genomics and their integration with other omics.

We provide bioinformatics solutions for data produced from a wide range of biological system i.e. microorganisms, human cells, mice, and plants, studied at the laboratories of microbiology, radiobiology, biosphere impact studies and cancer research in SCK CEN.

Recent publications

If you like to know more about your data or would like to find the most optimal bioinformatics solution, we are open for collaboration. To know more about our research work, check out our recent publications.

SCK CEN expertise in omics technology

  • 2022_SCKCEN-Bioinformatics-Genomics

    Genomics

    • Whole genome sequencing
    • Meta genomics
    • Amplicon sequencing
  • 2022_SCKCEN-Bioinformatics-Epigenomics

    Epigenomics

    • Whole genome methylation (array, sequencing)
    • Targeted methylation (array, sequencing)
    • ChiP-Seq
  • 2022_SCKCEN-Bioinformatics-Transcriptomics

    Transcriptomics

    • Bulk RNAseq
    • Micro RNAseq
    • Lnc RNAseq
    • Single cell RNAseq
  • 2022_SCKCEN-Bioinformatics-Proteomics

    Proteomics

    • Shotgun proteomics

    • Metaproteomics

Free & open source tools

The tools below developed at SCK CEN are free, open source and have open access publications. These tools allow further support and contribution in the future research work of the scientific community.

Overview tools by SCK CEN

  • GenDisCal is intended to systematically compare large numbers of bacterial genomes against each other. This can be used to cluster unknown genomes into groups belonging to the same species, or as a way to rapidly identify the species to which individual strains belong. GenDisCal is primarily designed around using short (3~8bp) oligonucleotide frequencies, but can also be used to compute average nucleotide identity using NCBI-Blast (must be installed separately) or an approximation thereof. GenDisCal also comes with a graphical user interface, making it easy to use on both Windows and Linux.

  • MAGISTA is an alignment-free approach to estimate completeness and purity of metagenomic bins. Typically this is done using marker genes, but only a few of these genes are universally conserved, which limits the accuracy of such methods for novel species found using metagenomics. By using oligonucleotide composition of 1kb- to 50kb-fragments, MAGISTA leverages intra-genome limits on inter-fragment distances that stay consistent throughout most bacterial species. By systematically analyzing the distributions of these inter-fragment distances using a random forest model training using realistic bins, MAGISTA can predict completeness and purity better than marker-gene-based methods that rely on universally conserved genes, though it is still far from accurate.

  • BacPipe is a comprehensive, rapid, and computationally low-resource bioinformatics pipeline for the analysis of bacterial whole genome sequences obtained from second and third-generation sequencing technologies. Users can choose to directly analyse raw sequencing reads or contigs or scaffolds in BacPipe. The pipeline is an ensemble of state-of-the-art, open-access bioinformatics tools for quality verification, genome assembly and Annotation, and identification of the bacterial genotype (MLST and emm typing), resistance genes, plasmid(s), virulence genes, and single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs). The outbreak module in BacPipe can be used, along with the SNPs and patient metadata, to simultaneously analyse many strains to understand evolutionary relationships and rapidly construct bacterial transmission routes. Importantly, BacPipe is designed to run multiple tools simultaneously which considerably reduces the time-to-result. BacPipe offer an automated pipeline that will contribute to overcoming one of the primary hurdles faced by microbiologists for analysing and interpreting WGS data, facilitating its direct application for routine patient care in hospitals and public health and infection control monitoring.

    SCK CEN Bioinformatics Bagpipe tool

  • PCR amplification of these marker genes (16S, 18S, ITS, etc) produces a significant amount of artificial sequences, often referred to as chimeras. CATCh combine two machine learning classifiers (reference-based and de novo) developed by integrating the output of existing chimera detection tools into a new, more powerful method. When comparing these classifiers with existing tools in either the reference-based or de novo mode, a higher performance of this ensemble method was observed on a wide range of sequencing data, including simulated, 454 pyrosequencing, and Illumina MiSeq data sets. Since this algorithm combines the advantages of different individual chimera detection tools,  it produces more robust results when challenged with chimeric sequences having a low parent divergence, short length of the chimeric range, and various numbers of parents. Additionally, it could be shown that integrating CATCh in the preprocessing pipeline has a beneficial effect on the quality of the clustering in operational taxonomic units.

    SCK CEN Bioinformatics CATCh tool

  • For 16S rRNA metagenomics studies, the 454 pyrosequencing technology was one of the most frequently used platforms, but sequencing errors still lead to important data analysis issues (e.g. in clustering in taxonomic units and biodiversity estimation).  NoDe (Noise Detector) is an error correction algorithm designed for 454 Pyrosequencing data. It is trained to identify those positions in 454 sequencing reads that are likely to have an error, and subsequently clusters those error-prone reads with correct reads resulting in error-free representative read. The positive effect of NoDe in 16S rRNA studies was confirmed by the beneficial effect on the precision of the clustering of pyrosequencing reads in operational taxonomic units. NoDe was shown to be a computational efficient denoising algorithm for pyrosequencing reads, producing the lowest error rates in an extensive benchmarking study with other denoising algorithms.

    SCK CEN Bioinformatics NoDe tool

  • IPED is a powerful denoising tool for correcting sequencing errors in Illumina MiSeq amplicon sequencing data. It includes a machine learning method which predicts potentially erroneous positions in sequencing reads based on a combination of quality metrics. Subsequently, this information is used to group those error-containing reads with correct reads, resulting in error-free consensus reads. This is achieved by masking potentially erroneous positions during this clustering step. Reducing the error rate had a positive effect on the clustering of reads in operational taxonomic units, with an almost perfect correspondence between the number of clusters and the theoretical number of species present in the mock communities.

    SCK CEN bioinformatics tool IPED

  • DynamiC is taxonomically driven region-specific clustering algorithm. It replaces the use of a standard cut-off (commonly 97%) for the clustering of 16S amplicons into operational taxonomic units (OTUs). The use of  generalised cut-off is questionable when applied to short amplicons only covering one or two variable regions of the 16S rRNA gene. It will lead to biases in diversity metrics and makes it hard to compare results obtained with amplicons derived with different primer sets. DynamiC -on the other hands-  takes into account the differential evolutional rates of taxonomic lineages in order to define a dynamic and taxonomic-dependent OTU clustering cut-off score. This is implemented by taking into consideration the amplified variable regions and the taxonomic family when defining this cut-off, such a threshold will lead to more robust results and closer correspondence between OTUs and species.

    SCK CEN bioinformatics tool DynamiC

  • OCToPUS is a comprehensive pipeline that making an optimal combination of different algorithms, which includes mothur: for reads alignment and handling, IPED: for denoising, CATCh: for chimera detection, UPARSE: for OTU clustering and SPAdes for pre-assembly filtering. OCToPUS achieves the lowest error rate, minimum number of spurious OTUs, and the closest correspondence to the existing community, while retaining the uppermost amount of reads when compared to other pipelines (in the comparative analysis). The newly introduced pipeline translates Illumina MiSeq amplicon sequencing data into high-quality and reliable OTUs, with improved performance and accuracy.

    SCK CEN bioinformatics tool OCToPUS

Share this page

Skip to main content

Bioinformatique

Combiner l'informatique, les statistiques et les mathématiques pour répondre aux questions de la recherche biologique

2022_SCKCEN_Bioinformatics

À propos

Notre équipe de bioinformatique fait partie du groupe d'experts en Biosciences interdisciplinaires (BIO).

Notre recherche est spécialisée dans l'analyse de données omiques, le développement d'algorithmes et de pipelines, l'exploration de données et l'intégration de données multi-omiques. Elle vise à établir des méthodes et des outils de traitement solides, afin de permettre une meilleure compréhension dans le domaine de la protéomique, de la (méta-)génomique et de son intégration avec d'autres données omiques.

Nous fournissons également des solutions bioinformatiques pour un large éventail de données biologiques, à savoir des micro-organismes, des cellules humaines, des souris et des plantes, produites par les laboratoires de microbiologie, de radiobiologied'études d'impact sur la biosphère et la recherche sur le cancer du SCK CEN.

Publications récentes

Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur vos données ou trouver la solution bioinformatique optimale, nous sommes ouverts à toute collaboration. Pour en savoir plus sur nos travaux de recherche, consultez nos publications récentes.

Expertise du SCK CEN en matière de technologie omique

  • 2022_SCKCEN-Bioinformatics-Genomics

    Génomique

    • Séquençage du génome entier
    • Méta-génomique
    • Séquençage des amplicons
  • 2022_SCKCEN-Bioinformatics-Epigenomics

    Épigénomique

    • Méthylation du génome entier (réseau, séquençage)
    • Méthylation ciblée (réseau, séquençage)
    • ChIP-Seq
  • 2022_SCKCEN-Bioinformatics-Transcriptomics

    Transcriptomique

    • RNAseq sur population de cellules
    • Micro RNAseq
    • Lnc RNAseq
    • RNAseq sur cellules isolées
  • 2022_SCKCEN-Bioinformatics-Proteomics

    Protéomique

    • Spectrométrie de masse

Outils gratuits et open source

Les outils ci-dessous sont des outils gratuits et open source qui sont développés par le SCK CEN. Les travaux de recherche sont accessibles au public afin de soutenir les travaux de recherche ultérieurs de l'ensemble de la communauté des chercheurs.

Outils de synthèse par SCK CEN

  • GenDisCal est destiné à comparer systématiquement un grand nombre de génomes bactériens entre eux. Il peut servir à réunir des génomes inconnus en groupes appartenant à la même espèce, ou comme moyen d'identifier rapidement les espèces auxquelles appartiennent des souches individuelles. GenDisCal est principalement conçu autour de l'utilisation de fréquences d'oligonucléotides courts (3~8bp), mais peut également être utilisé pour calculer l'identité moyenne des nucléotides en utilisant NCBI-Blast (doit être installé séparément) ou une approximation de celle-ci. GenDisCal est également doté d'une interface utilisateur graphique, ce qui le rend facile à utiliser sous Windows et Linux.

  • MAGISTA est une approche sans alignement pour estimer la complétude et la pureté des bins métagénomiques. Pour ce faire, on utilise généralement des gènes marqueurs, mais seuls quelques-uns de ces gènes sont universellement conservés, ce qui limite la précision de ces méthodes pour les nouvelles espèces découvertes par métagénomique. En utilisant des oligonucléotides composés de fragments de 1 kb à 50 kb, MAGISTA tire parti des limites intra-génome sur les distances inter-fragment qui restent cohérentes dans la plupart des espèces bactériennes. En analysant systématiquement les distributions de ces distances inter-fragment à l'aide d'un modèle de forêt aléatoire s'entraînant avec des bins réalistes, MAGISTA peut prédire la complétude et la pureté mieux que les méthodes basées sur les gènes marqueurs qui reposent sur des gènes universellement conservés, bien qu'il soit encore loin d'être précis.

  • BacPipe est un pipeline bioinformatique complet, rapide et à faible coût de calcul pour l'analyse de séquences de génomes entiers bactériens obtenues à partir de technologies de séquençage de deuxième et troisième générations. Les utilisateurs peuvent choisir d'analyser directement les lectures brutes de séquençage ou les contigs ou les scaffolds dans BacPipe. Le pipeline est un ensemble d'outils bioinformatiques de pointe, en accès libre, pour la vérification de la qualité, l'assemblage et l'annotation du génome, et l'identification du génotype bactérien (typage MLST et emm), des gènes de résistance, du ou des plasmides, des gènes de virulence et des polymorphismes mononucléotidiques (SNP). Le module d'épidémie de BacPipe peut être utilisé, avec les SNP et les métadonnées des patients, pour analyser simultanément de nombreuses souches afin de comprendre les relations évolutives et de construire rapidement des voies de transmission bactérienne. Il est important de noter que BacPipe est conçu pour exécuter plusieurs outils simultanément, ce qui réduit considérablement le délai d'obtention des résultats. BacPipe offre un pipeline automatisé qui contribuera à surmonter l'un des principaux obstacles rencontrés par les microbiologistes pour analyser et interpréter les données WGS, facilitant ainsi leur application directe pour les soins de routine aux patients dans les hôpitaux et la surveillance de la santé publique et du contrôle des infections.

    SCK CEN Bioinformatics Bagpipe tool

  • L'amplification par PCR de ces gènes marqueurs (16S, 18S, ITS, etc.) produit une quantité importante de séquences artificielles, souvent appelées chimères. CATCh combine deux classificateurs d'apprentissage automatique (basés sur la référence et de novo) développés en intégrant les résultats des outils de détection de chimères existants dans une nouvelle méthode plus puissante. En comparant ces classificateurs avec les outils existants, que ce soit en mode référence ou de novo, une meilleure performance de cette méthode d'ensemble a été observée sur un large éventail de données de séquençage, y compris des ensembles de données simulées, de pyroséquençage 454 et d'Illumina MiSeq. Comme cet algorithme combine les avantages de différents outils individuels de détection des chimères, il produit des résultats plus robustes lorsqu'il est confronté à des séquences chimériques présentant une faible divergence entre les parents, une courte longueur de l'intervalle chimérique et un nombre variable de parents. De plus, il a pu être démontré que l'intégration de CATCh dans le pipeline de prétraitement a un effet bénéfique sur la qualité du clustering dans les unités taxonomiques opérationnelles.

    SCK CEN Bioinformatics CATCh tool

  • Pour les études de métagénomique de l'ARNr 16S, la technologie de pyroséquençage 454 était l'une des plateformes les plus fréquemment utilisées, mais les erreurs de séquençage entraînent toujours d'importants problèmes d'analyse des données (par exemple, dans le regroupement en unités taxonomiques et l'estimation de la biodiversité).  NoDe (Noise Detector) est un algorithme de correction d'erreurs conçu pour les données de pyroséquençage 454. Il est entraîné à identifier les positions dans les lectures de séquençage 454 qui sont susceptibles de comporter une erreur, et regroupe ensuite ces lectures sujettes à erreur avec les lectures correctes, ce qui donne une lecture représentative sans erreur. L'effet positif de NoDe dans les études sur l'ARNr 16S a été confirmé par l'effet bénéfique sur la précision du regroupement des lectures de pyroséquençage en unités taxonomiques opérationnelles. NoDe s'est avéré être un algorithme de débruitage efficace sur le plan informatique pour les lectures de pyroséquençage, produisant les taux d'erreur les plus bas dans une étude comparative approfondie avec d'autres algorithmes de débruitage.

    SCK CEN Bioinformatics NoDe tool

  • IPED est un puissant outil de débruitage permettant de corriger les erreurs de séquençage dans les données de séquençage d'amplicons Illumina MiSeq. Il comprend une méthode d'apprentissage automatique qui prédit les positions potentiellement erronées dans les lectures de séquençage sur la base d'une combinaison de mesures de qualité. Ensuite, ces informations sont utilisées pour regrouper les lectures contenant des erreurs avec les lectures correctes, ce qui permet d'obtenir des lectures consensuelles sans erreur. Ceci est réalisé en masquant les positions potentiellement erronées pendant cette étape de regroupement. La réduction du taux d'erreur a eu un effet positif sur le regroupement des lectures en unités taxonomiques opérationnelles, avec une correspondance presque parfaite entre le nombre de groupes et le nombre théorique d'espèces présentes dans les communautés fictives.

    SCK CEN bioinformatics tool IPED

  • DynamiC est un algorithme de regroupement spécifique à une région, basé sur la taxonomie. Il remplace l'utilisation d'un seuil standard (généralement 97 %) pour le regroupement des amplicons 16S en unités taxonomiques opérationnelles (OTU). L'utilisation d'une coupure généralisée est discutable lorsqu'elle est appliquée à des amplicons courts couvrant seulement une ou deux régions variables du gène de l'ARNr 16S. Cela entraînera des biais dans les mesures de diversité et rendra difficile la comparaison des résultats obtenus avec des amplicons dérivés de différents jeux d'amorces. DynamiC, quant à lui, prend en compte les taux d'évolution différentiels des lignées taxonomiques afin de définir un score de coupure de regroupement d'OTU dynamique et dépendant de la taxonomie. Ceci est mis en œuvre en prenant en considération les régions variables amplifiées et la famille taxonomique lors de la définition de ce seuil, un tel seuil conduira à des résultats plus robustes et à une correspondance plus étroite entre les OTU et les espèces.

    SCK CEN bioinformatics tool DynamiC

  • OCToPUS est un pipeline complet qui réalise une combinaison optimale de différents algorithmes, dont mothur pour l'alignement et le traitement des lectures, IPED pour le débruitage, CATCh pour la détection des chimères, UPARSE pour le regroupement des OTU et SPAdes pour le filtrage de pré-assemblage. OCToPUS obtient le taux d'erreur le plus faible, le nombre minimal d'OTU parasites et la correspondance la plus étroite avec la communauté existante, tout en conservant le plus grand nombre de lectures par rapport aux autres pipelines (dans l'analyse comparative). Le pipeline nouvellement introduit traduit les données de séquençage d'amplicons Illumina MiSeq en OTU de haute qualité et fiables, avec des performances et une précision améliorées.

    SCK CEN bioinformatics tool OCToPUS

  • Vous souhaitez rejoindre l'équipe ?

    Si vous êtes intéressé et souhaitez rejoindre notre équipe pour un projet de formation ou de stage, vous pouvez nous contacter.

    • mohamed [dot] mysara [at] sckcen [dot] be (Dr. Mohamed Mysara) mohamed [dot] mysara [dot] ahmed [at] sckcen [dot] be (📧) 👁️‍🗨️
    • surya [dot] gupta [at] sckcen [dot] be (Dr. Surya Gupta) surya [dot] gupta [at] sckcen [dot] be (📧) 👁️‍🗨️

Partagez cette page