Skip to main content

ANUBIS

Building the knowledge for better dismantling

2022_SCKCEN_ANUBIS

As part of the Belgian plan for EU’s post-pandemic recovery, SCK CEN has submitted a project linked to the sustainable dismantling of the Belgian nuclear power plants. ANUBIS, as it was dubbed, stands for Advancing NUclear dismantling in Belgium through Improving Sustainability. A nice way to say that we’re building a research, development and demonstration (RD&D) facility and accompanying installations to support innovation of decommissioning practices in Belgium.

Not only does this fit the EU’s ambitions for a sustainable and digital transition, it also means industrial players can take advantage of the economic opportunities.

Interested to apply your technology for dismantling operations? Do not let your chance go by, let us find your new breakthrough together!

Closing knowledge and technology gaps

Our number one goal is to develop the necessary technologies and competences to maximize the reuse and recycling of materials coming from future decommissioning operations of the Belgian nuclear power plants in a cost-efficient way. That is why additional research is needed to close certain knowledge gaps, and advance our technologies to present-day sustainable standards.

2022_SCKCEN_Dismantling_ANUBIS_Large-components

Sustainable dismantling of large material streams

Dismantling a nuclear power plant involves the management of a lot of material streams. Now imagine dismantling 5 of them in parallel. So we’re further exploring our best practices to streamline operations, minimize radioactive waste and maximize the amount of material that can be safely released without radiation risks. Of course, all according to local legislation and procedure standards.

ANUBIS aims to deliver approved methodologies for characterization, treatment, decontamination and conditioning, ready to use during the dismantling of the Belgian NPPs.

The dismantling of Belgium’s prototype pressurized water reactor BR3 is seen as an international reference. Thanks to SCK CEN’s pioneering work on dismantling BR3, we were able to grow our expertise and share these insights on an international level.

20220413_SCKCEN_Catalogiseren ontmanteling

Using innovative digital technologies

To handle the thousands of tons of material streams that come with dismantling a nuclear power plant, you need a close follow-up.

So, we’re upgrading all material inventory and tracking systems to the newest IT standards and investigate how novel  technologies such as automation technology, artificial intelligence (AI), machine learning (ML) and building information modelling (BIM) can help decommissioning operations! Pretty cool, right?

These innovative digital technologies are used for enhanced material handling, such as material characterization, but also to build a next level material data management system that includes a strategy decision tool or to implement a more accurate radiological protection of the workers during dismantling activities.

Upscaling toward industrialization and stimulating innovation

In a second stage, we are looking at scaling opportunities for industrial applications in nuclear technology. In line with the EU’s objectives for the recovery and resilience fund, this brings advantages in terms of industry growth, local expertise and innovation strength

2022_SCKCEN_Dismantling_ANUBIS_innovation

An innovation hub for decommissioning technology development 

Our new material treatment facility, where all our new RD&D installations related to decommissioning will be located, is also open for 3rd parties as of 2025. Here, you will be able to:

  • investigate your products in hot (nuclear) and cold (non-nuclear) areas
  • validate your technology for nuclear applications
  • maintain or repair contaminated equipment

Given the presence of both SCK CEN’s experts as well as specialized companies actively developing D&D technology, this facility will become a true Belgian innovation hub. Do not miss out!

2018_SCKCEN-partnership

Close interaction with industry stakeholders

It would be a shame to build this sanctum of nuclear know-how and not open its doors for like-minded industry players. That is why SCK CEN is organizing yearly stakeholder events to have project updates and opportunities to exchange ideas. Moreover, we’re joining forces with industrial companies for specific R&D collaborations.

By working together we hope to enable a sustainable, safe and cost-efficient dismantling process. 

New to the nuclear industry and looking to apply your tech to dismantling applications? Or just curious to visit our innovation hub?

We’d like to hear from you and discuss collaborations. Fill in the form below and we’ll show you how SCK CEN can help you get there.

If necessary, please provide us with more information regarding your request. Would you like to share multiple files? Then we advise you to combine everything in a zip-file and upload it.
One file only.
16 MB limit.
Allowed types: gif, jpg, jpeg, png, bmp, eps, tif, pict, psd, txt, rtf, html, odf, pdf, doc, docx, ppt, pptx, xls, xlsx, xml, avi, mov, mp3, ogg, wav, bz2, dmg, gz, jar, rar, sit, svg, tar, zip.

Share this page

Skip to main content

ANUBIS

Renforcer les connaissances pour un meilleur démantèlement

2022_SCKCEN_ANUBIS-FundedbyEuropeanUnion

Dans le cadre du plan de relance européen post-pandémie en Belgique, le SCK CEN a soumis un projet lié au démantèlement durable des centrales nucléaires belges. ANUBIS, comme il a été baptisé, est l’acronyme de Advancing NUclear dismantling in Belgium through Improving Sustainability. Une belle façon de dire que nous construisons une installation de recherche, de développement et de démonstration (RD&D) et des installations connexes pour soutenir l’innovation dans les pratiques de mise hors service en Belgique.

Cela correspond non seulement aux ambitions de l’UE en matière de transition durable et numérique, mais cela signifie également que les acteurs industriels peuvent tirer parti des opportunités économiques. 

Vous souhaitez appliquer votre technologie aux opérations de démantèlement ? Ne laissez pas passer votre chance, trouvons ensemble votre nouvelle avancée !

Combler les lacunes en matière de connaissances et de technologies

Notre objectif principal est de développer les technologies et les compétences nécessaires pour maximiser la réutilisation et le recyclage des matériaux provenant des futures opérations de mise hors service des centrales nucléaires belges de manière rentable. C’est pourquoi des recherches supplémentaires sont nécessaires pour combler certaines lacunes dans les connaissances et faire progresser nos technologies vers les normes durables actuelles.

2022_SCKCEN_Dismantling_ANUBIS_Large-components

Démantèlement durable des grands flux de matériaux

Le démantèlement d’une centrale nucléaire implique la gestion d’un grand nombre de flux de matériaux. Imaginez maintenant que vous en démontez cinq en parallèle. Nous explorons donc plus avant nos meilleures pratiques pour rationaliser les opérations, minimiser les déchets radioactifs et maximiser la quantité de matériaux qui peuvent être libérés en toute sécurité sans risque de radiation. Bien entendu, tout est conforme à la législation locale et aux normes de procédure.

ANUBIS vise à fournir des méthodologies approuvées pour la caractérisation, le traitement, la décontamination et le conditionnement, prêtes à être utilisées lors du démantèlement des centrales nucléaires belges.

Le démantèlement du prototype belge de réacteur à eau pressurisée BR3 est considéré comme une référence internationale. Grâce au travail de pionnier du SCK CEN sur le démantèlement de BR3, nous avons pu développer notre expertise et partager ces connaissances à un niveau international.

20220413_SCKCEN_Catalogiseren ontmanteling

Utilisation de technologies numériques innovantes

Pour traiter les milliers de tonnes de flux de matériaux qui accompagnent le démantèlement d’une centrale nucléaire, il faut un suivi attentif.

Nous mettons donc à niveau tous les systèmes d’inventaire et de suivi des matériaux en fonction des normes informatiques les plus récentes et nous étudions comment les nouvelles technologies telles que l’automatisation, l’intelligence artificielle (IA), l’apprentissage automatique et la modélisation des informations du bâtiment (BIM) peuvent aider les opérations de mise hors service ! Plutôt captivant, n’est-ce pas ?

Ces technologies numériques innovantes sont utilisées pour améliorer la manipulation des matériaux, comme la caractérisation des matériaux, mais aussi pour construire un système de gestion des données sur les matériaux de niveau supérieur qui comprend un outil de décision stratégique ou pour mettre en œuvre une protection radiologique plus précise des travailleurs pendant les activités de démantèlement.

Montée en puissance vers l’industrialisation et stimulation de l’innovation

Dans un deuxième temps, nous étudions les possibilités de mise à l’échelle pour les applications industrielles de la technologie nucléaire. Conformément aux objectifs de l’UE pour le fonds de relance et de résilience, cela présente des avantages en termes de croissance industrielle, d’expertise locale et de force d’innovation

2022_SCKCEN_Dismantling_ANUBIS_innovation

Un pôle d’innovation pour le développement des technologies de démantèlement 

Notre nouvelle installation de traitement des matériaux, où seront situées toutes nos nouvelles installations de RD&D liées au démantèlement, est également ouverte aux tiers à partir de 2025. Ici, vous pourrez :

  • investigate your products in hot (nuclear) and cold (non-nuclear) areas
  • validate your technology for nuclear applications
  • maintain or repair contaminated equipment

Compte tenu de la présence à la fois des experts du SCK CEN et des entreprises spécialisées qui développent activement la technologie D&D, cette installation deviendra un véritable pôle d’innovation belge. Ne manquez pas cette occasion !

2018_SCKCEN-partnership

Interaction étroite avec les parties prenantes du secteur

Il serait dommage de construire ce sanctuaire du savoir-faire nucléaire et de ne pas ouvrir ses portes à des acteurs industriels partageant les mêmes idées. C’est pourquoi le SCK CEN organise chaque année des événements pour les parties prenantes afin de faire le point sur le projet et d’échanger des idées. En outre, nous nous associons à des entreprises industrielles pour des collaborations spécifiques en matière de recherche et développement.

En travaillant ensemble, nous espérons permettre un processus de démantèlement durable, sûr et rentable. 

Vous êtes nouveau dans l'industrie nucléaire et vous cherchez à appliquer votre technologie aux applications de démantèlement ? Ou simplement curieux de visiter notre pôle d'innovation ?

Nous aimerions avoir de vos nouvelles et discuter de collaborations. Complétez le formulaire ci-dessous et nous examinerons comment le SCK CEN est en mesure de vous aider.

Si nécessaire, veuillez nous fournir de plus amples informations concernant votre demande. Vous souhaitez partager plusieurs fichiers ? Nous vous conseillons alors de tout regrouper dans un fichier zip et de le télécharger.
1 seul fichier.
16 Mo limit.
Allowed types: gif, jpg, jpeg, png, bmp, eps, tif, pict, psd, txt, rtf, html, odf, pdf, doc, docx, ppt, pptx, xls, xlsx, xml, avi, mov, mp3, ogg, wav, bz2, dmg, gz, jar, rar, sit, svg, tar, zip.

Partagez cette page