Skip to main content

Nuclear game challenge

We challenge you and your team mates for the Nuclear Game Challenge!
The game is on!

Objectives

With the Nuclear Game Challenge, the Belgian Nuclear Research Centre (SCK CEN) and the Joint Research Centre (JRC - research centres of the European Commission) would like to provide a broad overview on nuclear science and applications, as well as testing your teamskills, creativity and critical thinking ability. 

Challenge of the contest

Create and develop with your team, after the kick-off event and with support of a SCK CEN or JRC mentor, an educative game on nuclear science and applications which can be further used in or outside the classroom. The educative game will be judged by a jury of scientific experts of JRC and SCK CEN, based upon i.e. creativity and correct science. All criteria which must be fulfilled are listed in the contest rules.

Kick-off event

The kick-off event of the nuclear game challenge took place on November 8, 2017 in the Museum for Natural Sciences in Brussels. View the report or check out the pictures below.

Winners and awards

Nuclairons won a three-day visit to the research centre of EC-JRC in Ispra. The Daltonatheneum (Westerlo) and the Sint-Jozefschool (Mere) ended up in a nice second and third place. Both teams recieved a FNAC-cheque of 1500 and 1000 euro respectively during the Award Ceremony.

The research institute of the European Commission (JRC) in Ispra, Italy, invited the winning team of the Nuclear Game Challenge, ‘Nuclairons’ of the Collège Jean XXIII in Brussels, and their accompanying professor to a three-day, all-inclusive trip. This visit took place from 5 to 7 September 2018.

This unique opportunity brought the team to the visitors’ centre where JRC’s role within the European Union has been explained. The team was then showed around the various laboratories to expand their knowledge into nuclear and non-nuclear research activities. The experimental nuclear reactor ESSOR could be seen and the group also visited the ‘Advanced Safeguards Measurement, Monitoring and Modelling Laboratory’ (AS3ML), the ‘European Laboratory for Structural Assessment’ (ELSA), the ‘Vehicle Emissions Laboratory’ (VELA), the ‘European Microwave Signature Laboratory’ (EMSL), the ‘European Crisis Management Laboratory’ (ECML) and the laboratory for molecular biology, genomics and food safety. (More information on the facilities of JRC).
The team also seized this opportunity to discover Ispra and its vicinity. They visited the Hermitage of Santa Caterina del Sasso as well as Stresa and Varese where they tasted an exquisite ice-cream... Approved by everyone! They also enjoyed the panoramic view of Lake Maggiore, Italy’s second largest lake.  

  • Enrich U.PNG

    Enrich U

    1st prize
    Collège Jean XXIII - Brussel
    Team 'Nucleairons!'

  • Nuclear 4ce.png

    Nuclear 4ce

    2nd prize
    Daltonatheneum Het Leerlabo - Westerlo
    Team '4 is all that matter(s)'

  • Europium.png

    Europium

    3rd prize
    Sint-Jozefschool - Mere
    Team 'U235'

Share this page

Skip to main content

Nuclear game challenge

Nous te mettons au défi, avec tes coéquipiers, lors du Nuclear Game Challenge !
The game is on!

Objectif

Par le biais de ce Nuclear Game Challenge, le Centre d’Etude de l’Energie Nucléaire (SCK•CEN) et le Centre commun de recherche (CCR – centre de recherche de la Commission européenne) désirent t’offrir un large aperçu des applications des sciences nucléaires et par la même occasion mettre ton esprit d’équipe, ta créativité et ta capacité d’analyse critique à l’épreuve.

Challenge concours

Après l’événement kick-off et avec le soutien de votre mentor SCK•CEN ou CCR, toi et ton équipe inventerez et développerez un jeu éducatif sur les sciences nucléaires et leurs applications qui pourra ensuite être utilisé en cours ou hors des classes. Le jeu éducatif sera évalué par un jury d’experts  scientifiques du CCR et du SCK•CEN, notamment sur la créativité et la rigueur scientifique. Tous les critères que doit remplir le jeu sont repris dans le règlement de la compétition.

Evénement kick-off

L’événement kick-off s’est tenu le 8 novembre 2017 au Muséum des Sciences naturelles à Bruxelles.
Voir les photos en-dessous et le rapport en-ligne.

Lauréates et prix

Les trois équipes lauréates était invitées à la Cérémonie de remise des prix qui a eu lieu le 16 mai 2018 à EURIDICE

L’équipe victorieuse Nuclairons est récompensée d’une visite de trois jours à l’institut de recherche du CCR à Ispra (Italie). L’équipe qui a terminé à la deuxième place, 4 is all that matter(s), est récompensée d’un bon d’une valeur FNAC de 1 500 euros.  L’équipe qui a terminé à la troisième place est U235.  Le prix octroyé à la troisième place est un bon d’une valeur FNAC de 1 000 euros.

L’institut de recherche de la Commission européenne (CCR) à Ispra (Italie) a convié l’équipe gagnante du Nuclear Game Challenge, « Nuclairons » du Collège Jean XXIII à Bruxelles, et leur professeur accompagnateur pour une visite de trois jours, tout compris. Cette visite a eu lieu du 5 au 7 septembre 2018.

Cette opportunité unique a permis à l’équipe de voir le centre des visites où le rôle du CCR au sein de l’Union européenne a été détaillé. Par la suite, l’équipe a parcouru les différents laboratoires afin d’en savoir plus sur les activités de recherche nucléaires et non nucléaires. Les vainqueurs ont par exemple découvert le réacteur nucléaire expérimental ESSOR et ont visité le Advanced Safeguards Measurement, Monitoring and Modelling Laboratory (AS3ML), le European Laboratory for Structural Assessment (ELSA), le Vehicle Emissions Laboratory (VELA), le European Microwave Signature Laboratory (EMSL), le European Crisis Management Laboratory (ECML) et le laboratoire de biologie moléculaire, de génomique et de sécurité sanitaire des aliments. (Plus d’informations sur les installations du CCR).
L’équipe a également profité de l’occasion pour découvrir Ispra et ses environs. Ils ont ainsi visité l’ermitage de Santa Caterina del Sasso ainsi que les villes de Stresa et de Varèse où ils ont dégusté, et adopté, d’excellentes glaces. Ils ont pu admirer le panorama donnant sur le lac Majeur, deuxième plus grand lac d’Italie.  

  • Enrich U.PNG

    Enrich U

    1st prize
    Collège Jean XXIII - Brussel
    Team 'Nucleairons!'

  • Nuclear 4ce.png

    Nuclear 4ce

    2nd prize
    Daltonatheneum Het Leerlabo - Westerlo
    Team '4 is all that matter(s)'

  • 2020_Academy-Europium.png

    Europium

    3rd prize
    Sint-Jozefschool - Mere
    Team 'U235'

Partagez cette page