Protection of man and the environment

Studies into the impact of radiation on humans and the environment: radioecological research and biosphere models

Nuclear activities inevitably affect man and his natural environment. In order to assess this impact correctly we need to understand the behaviour and dispersion of radioactive substances in the environment. Only when armed with this knowledge can we accurately assess the impact of radiation on humans and the environment and take appropriate measures to limit it. All the above studies are categorised as biosphere impact studies.

Predictive modelling

SCK•CEN performs a wide range of laboratory and field experiments to gain a better insight into the processes that govern the dispersion of radioactive substances in the environment. Using this information we have developed dispersion models. A good example is a simulation model that charts the interaction between groundwater, soil and plants. Perennials absorb groundwater and thus contribute to the dispersion of radioactivity in the environment. We also study the impact of radiation on plants.

All this knowledge enables us to develop scientific models that predict the radiological doses humans and the environment will be subjected to.

Our researchers also look at how we can prevent the impact of radiation and radiological contamination of the environment by developing counter measures. We study waste disposal, industries that use naturally occurring radioactive materials, routine emissions by the nuclear industry, nuclear incidents, etc.

 

Radioecological research

Protection de l'homme et de l'environnement

L'impact du rayonnement : recherche radio-écologique et modèles de biosphère

Les activités nucléaires ont inévitablement une influence sur l'homme et son environnement naturel. Pour pouvoir évaluer cet impact avec précision, nous souhaitons comprendre le comportement et la propagation de particules radioactives dans l'environnement. Seule cette connaissance nous permettra d'estimer avec précision la charge du rayonnement sur l'homme et l'environnement et de prendre les mesures qui s'imposent pour la limiter. Toutes ces études tombent sous le dénominateur "Etudes d'incidences sur la biosphère".

Modèles de prévision

Le SCK•CEN effectue bon nombre d'expériences en laboratoire et sur le terrain afin d'avoir une meilleure vue d'ensemble des processus à la base de la distribution des particules radioactives dans l'environnement.  Suite à cela, nous développons des modèles de dispersion. Un bon exemple est un modèle de simulation qui met en scène l'interaction entre le sol, les plantes et les eaux souterraines. Certaines plantes pluriannuelles absorbent l'eau souterraine et contribuent ainsi à la propagation de la radioactivité dans l'environnement. Par ailleurs, nous étudions les effets du rayonnement sur les plantes.

Cette connaissance nous permet de développer des modèles scientifiques qui prévoient les doses radiologiques endurées par l'homme et l'environnement.

Nos chercheurs étudient également la manière d'éviter la contamination radiologique de l'environnement et la charge du rayonnement par la mise au point de contre-mesures. Nous étudions le stockage des déchets nucléaires, des industries travaillant avec des matériaux de radioactivité naturelle, les écoulements de routine de l'industrie nucléaire, les accidents nucléaires, …

 

Recherche en radio-écologie