Protection of man and the environment

Medical radiation dose optimisation

X-rays and radioisotopes are an integral part of today’s healthcare. Radiology creates visual images of organs, nuclear medicine diagnoses and treats cancer with radioisotopes and radiotherapy uses radiation as a cancer therapy. Moreover, new nuclear medical applications are continually being introduced.

As with all forms of radioactivity, these applications are not without risk for both patients and medical staff. SCK•CEN invests heavily in pioneering research aimed at keeping these radiation doses to an absolute minimum whilst retaining the benefits of radioactivity.
 

Protection of premature babies

Almost all premature babies have underdeveloped lungs. During the initial months these babies frequently have to undergo lung x-rays. Babies, and premature babies in particular, are highly sensitive to radiation, hence the need to keep the dose as low as possible. However, the quality of a radiological image is directly dependent upon the amount of radiation. We have conducted extensive research in recent years into the delicate balance between a minimal radiation dose and sufficiently high image quality.

To this end we developed new models to define the ideal dose for each organ. During this process we confirmed the need for an extra filter, which lowers the radiation dose in the lungs by a quarter without excessive loss of image quality. We are conducting a national study to chart the general radiation impact on premature babies in this country.

 

Skin damage caused by interventional radiology

Medical treatments or examinations increasingly involve interventional radiology, whereby a small incision is made in the patient's skin. Various needles, guide wires and catheters are inserted through the incision whilst radiological techniques are used for visual control. This type of intervention is frequently employed to insert pacemakers and stents, visualise arteries, etc.

If the intervention takes a long time the increasing radioactivity level can cause skin damage. Together with several university hospitals, we have developed a measurement method to define and monitor the threshold levels for skin damage with interventional radiology. We have also designed protection methods for medical staff.

Protection de l'homme et de l'environnement

Optimiser les doses médicales de rayonnement

Les rayons X et radio-isotopes sont indissociables de la santé publique actuelle. La radiologie met les organes en image, la médecine nucléaire rend un diagnostic et traite le cancer au moyen de radio-isotopes et la radiothérapie utilise le rayonnement pour les traitements du cancer. Par ailleurs, de nouvelles applications nucléaires médicales voient sans cesse le jour.

Comme avec toute forme de radioactivité, des risques sont aussi liés à ces applications tant pour les patients que pour le personnel médical. Le SCK•CEN investit beaucoup dans la recherche innovante pour limiter au maximum ces doses de rayonnement, sans perdre les avantages de la radioactivité.
 

Protection des prématurés

Les prématurés souffrent souvent de poumons sous-développés. Ces enfants subissent au cours des premiers mois, bon nombre de radiographies des voies respiratoires. Les bébés et surtout les prématurés, sont très sensibles aux rayons. La dose doit donc être réduite au maximum. Mais la qualité d'une image radiologique est directement fonction de la quantité du rayonnement. Bon nombre de recherches ont été entreprises ces dernières années au sujet de l'équilibre précaire entre la dose de rayonnement minimale et une qualité suffisante de l'image.

De nouveaux modèles ont été développés à cet effet pour fixer la dose idéale pour chaque organe. A cet égard, nous confirmons l'utilité d'un filtre supplémentaire qui diminue d'un quart la dose de rayonnement dans les poumons sans ternir pour autant la qualité imagée. Nous menons une étude nationale qui devrait établir la charge générale de rayonnement auprès des prématurés belges.

Lésions cutanées en radiologie d'intervention

De plus en plus de traitements ou examens médicaux se déroulent selon la radiologie d'intervention. Dans ce cas, le patient reçoit une petite incision dans la peau. Sous contrôle visuel au moyen de techniques radiologiques, une série d'aiguilles traversent cette incision, fils de guidage et cathéters. Ce type d'intervention se fait très souvent lors du placement de stimulateurs cardiaques et stents, mise en image des vaisseaux sanguins …

Lors d'une intervention de longue durée, la radioactivité encourue peut endommager la peau. En collaboration avec divers hôpitaux universitaires, nous avons développé une méthode de mesure pour déterminer et suivre le seuil des dégâts épidermiques lors de radiologie d'intervention. Nous avons aussi élaboré des méthodes de protection pour le personnel médical.