MYRRHA: an innovative research installation

A priority for Europe

The European Commission has been supporting MYRRHA since the project was launched through various scientific framework programmes. Europe considers MYRRHA an “international project with significant societal relevance”. MYRRHA plays a leading role in the development of a dynamic knowledge-based economy. The Belgian authorities’ investment in MYRRHA tallies with the Europe 2020 strategy to stimulate growth and employment.

MYRRHA helps our country to achieve the objectives of this ambitious plan: supporting innovation, strengthening industrial activities and reaching a low carbon economy with less greenhouse gas emissions. MYRRHA is also used for education and training: a new generation of nuclear scientists and engineers will be called on to participate in the creation of our future society.

 

Sustainable nuclear energy

MYRRHA fits perfectly within the European Commission’s strategic plan aimed at speeding up the development of low carbon energy technology. This technology plays a significant role in the fight against global warming and tries to secure a safe and independent energy supply for Europe. 

The new approach is focused on the development of joint programmes, better and optimized use of the space potential in Europe, but also on research, innovation and maximum exploitation of all internal market options. As an infrastructure that is unique around the world, MYRRHA focuses on research into nuclear waste treatment (transmutation), fissile materials for nuclear fission systems and fusion materials.

MYRRHA: une installation de recherche innovante

Une priorité pour l’Europe

La Commission européenne soutient MYRRHA depuis le lancement du projet au travers de différents programmes-cadres scentifiques. Qualifié par l’Europe de « projet international prioritaire d'une grande importance sociétale », MYRRHA joue un rôle de premier ordre dans le développement d'une économie dynamique de connaissances. L'investissement des autorités belges dans MYRRHA cadre aussi avec la stratégie de l'Europe 2020 visant à stimuler la croissance et l'emploi.


MYRRHA aide notre pays à atteindre les objectifs de ce plan ambitieux: soutenir l'innovation, renforcer les activités industrielles et aboutir à une économie pauvre en carbone et en rejets causés par les gaz d'effets de serre. MYRRHA est aussi mis à contribution pour la formation et le training: une nouvelle génération de scientifiques et ingénieurs nucléaires seront appelés à participer ainsi à la création de la société de demain.

Energie nucléaire durable

MYRRHA rencontre parfaitement les objectifs du plan stratégique de la Commission européenne destiné à accélérer le développement de technologies énergétiques pauvres en carbone. Ces dernières jouent un rôle non négligeable dans la lutte contre le réchauffement de la terre et veillent à assurer un ravitaillement sûr et indépendant de l'Europe en énergie. 

La nouvelle approche vise l'élaboration de programmes communs, une meilleure mise à profit du potentiel spatial en Europe, mais aussi la recherche, l'innovation et l'exploitation maximale de toutes les possibilités du marché intérieur. En tant qu'infrastructure unique de par le monde, MYRRHA se focalise sur la recherche relative au traitement des déchets nucléaires (transmutation), sur les matériaux de combustible pour les systèmes de fission nucléaire et les matériaux de fusion.