MYRRHA: an innovative research installation

Unique magnet for Belgium

MYRRHA plays a crucial role in the development of SCK•CEN, the Kempen and Belgium. According to a study conducted by the nonprofit organisation Strategische Projectenorganisatie Kempen (SPK, the Kempen Organisation for Strategic Projects), the total economic impact of the MYRRHA project from 2009 to the end of its operation is estimated to nearly 13 billion EUR, of which 11 billion EUR in Belgium. For each euro spent on MYRRHA, the return on investment for Belgium amounts to almost 12 euros.

The MYRRHA project attracts specialists from all over the world and contributes in strengthening our international standing and our reputation as centre of excellence. Beside the training of new generations of experts, this massive global project also allows us to bond with several other research institutions, universities and companies in Belgium and abroad.

Combined with SCK•CEN’s strategic plan, the construction of MYRRHA creates new jobs. During MYRRHA operation phase, some 2,000 extra stable jobs will be directly or indirectly created. The dynamic resulting from the operation of MYRRHA will also create additional jobs, via spin-offs and implementation of new high-tech companies within SCK•CEN’s vicinity.

MYRRHA: une installation de recherche innovante

Pôle d'attraction unique pour la Belgique

MYRRHA joue un rôle crucial dans le développement du SCK•CEN, de la Campine et de la Belgique. Selon une étude menée par l'asbl Strategische Projectenorganisatie Kempen (SPK, l'organisation de projets stratégiques en Campine), l'impact économique total du projet MYRRHA de 2009 jusqu'à la fin de l'exploitation, est estimé à près de 13 milliards EUR, dont 11 milliards EUR en Belgique. Pour chaque euro investi dans MYRRHA, les retombées pour la Belgique tournent autour des 12 euros.

Le projet MYRRHA attire des spécialistes de par le monde et contribue à conforter notre rayonnement international et notre réputation de centre d’excellence. Outre la formation de nouvelles générations d’experts, ce projet d’envergure mondiale permet aussi de jeter des ponts entre de nombreux instituts de recherche, universités et entreprises en Belgique et à l’étranger.

La construction de MYRRHA, combinée au plan stratégique du SCK•CEN, génère de nouveaux emplois. Durant la phase d'exploitation de MYRRHA, quelque 2.000 emplois durables seront créés directement ou indirectement. La dynamique engendrée par l'exploitation de MYRRHA, créera aussi des emplois supplémentaires, via la création de spin-offs et l’implémentation de nouvelles entreprises de haute technologie dans les environs du SCK•CEN.