Analyses and measurements

Personal and environmental dosimetry

Personal dosimetry

We measure individual doses on behalf of industrial organisations, hospitals or other institutions where personnel are exposed to radioactivity in their working environment. This usually involves a whole body dosimeter worn on the body trunk.

SCK•CEN checks the dosimeters each month and submits the results to the client. This mainly applies to employees in nuclear power plants, laboratory assistants, radiologists, physicians, medical personnel, patients, etc.
 

Different types of dosimeters

This can be useful, for example, when treating radioactive sources in nuclear medicine or when the employee uses a glove box. For instance, a wrist dosimeter measures the skin dose on the hands. A finger dosimeter consists of a plastic ring with a detector which is sensitive to radiation in the seal.
We use different types of dosimeters, depending upon our clients’ requirements. In the event of local radiation locally high skin doses may occur, in which case we recommend an additional wrist or finger dosimeter.
 

Results

The client returns the used dosimeters to SCK•CEN in Mol for reading. Upon calculation and checking of the measurement results the client is sent an e-mail advising of the results. The information is also available via a secure web platform, enabling the client to monitor the history of individual dosimeters online. We are able to offer significant discounts for large scale measurements.

Incidental doses

Our expertise can also be applied to measure personal doses in the event of incidental exposure. We also propose and monitor the results of corrective measures.

 

Environmental dosimetry

Environmental dosimetry involves the measurement of the impact of artificial sources of radioactivity on the environment. Natural background radiation is taken into account and we use highly sensitive equipment to measure even the smallest fluctuations in radioactivity.

 

Do you want to know more or become a client?

Please visit our website: http://dosimetry.sckcen.be

Contact: filip.vanhavere@sckcen.be

Analyses et mesures

Dosimétrie

Dosimétrie des personnes et de l'environnement

Pour répondre à la demande d'hôpitaux, d'entreprises industrielles ou d'autres institutions employant des personnes  exposées à la radioactivité dans le cadre de leur activité professionnelle, nous mesurons les doses individuelles encourues. En général, les mesures s'effectuent à l'aide d'un dosimètre corporel, porté sur la poitrine.

Le SCK•CEN contrôle les dosimètres de manière mensuelle et livre le résultat au client. Cela concerne les employés des centrales nucléaires, radiologues, médecins, techniciens de laboratoire, le personnel médical ainsi que les patients …
 

Dosimètres variés

En fonction des besoins du client, différents types de dosimètres sont utilisés. En cas de rayonnements locaux, des doses épidermiques élevées peuvent survenir. Dans ce cas de figure, un dosimètre de doigt ou de poignet complémentaire est recommandé. Ce dosimètre peut être utile, notamment dans la médecine nucléaire lors du traitement au moyen de sources radioactives ou lors de travaux dans une boîte à gants.
Un dosimètre de poignet mesure la dose épidermique au niveau des mains. Le dosimètre de doigt est une bague en plastique munie d'un détecteur encapsulé, sensible aux rayonnements.
 

Résultats

Après utilisation, les dosimètres sont renvoyés par le client au SCK•CEN à Mol pour lecture. Après calcul et contrôle des résultats de mesures, le client en est informé par courriel.

L'information est également disponible sur une plateforme web sécurisée. De cette manière, le client peut suivre en ligne l'historique de chaque dosimètre individuel. Lors de commandes importantes des ristournes sont accordées.

Doses accidentelles

En cas d'exposition accidentelle, vous pouvez faire appel à notre expertise pour mesurer la dose personnelle reçue. Des mesures correctives sont ensuite proposées et le suivi de leurs résultats est assuré.

 

Dosimétrie environnementale

Dans le cas d'une dosimétrie environnementale, nous mesurons l'effet de sources radioactives artificielles sur l'environnement. Il est bien évidemment tenu compte du bruit de fond de la radioactivité naturelle. Pour mesurer les fluctuations les plus petites de la radioactivité, nous utilisons un appareillage de mesure très sensible.

Vous voulez en savoir plus ou devenir client?

Alors, visitez notre site web: http://dosimetry.sckcen.be

Contact: filip.vanhavere@sckcen.be