Safety

Non-proliferation: preventing
the proliferation of nuclear weapons

To prevent proliferation of nuclear materials and weapons (non-proliferation), fuels such as uranium and plutonium must be managed and controlled in a responsible manner. The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) monitors their peaceful application. SCK•CEN supports the IAEA in the development of more effective and resourceful control methods.

Technical inspections

For almost 30 years SCK•CEN has been in charge of the Belgian support programme for the IAEA and has been developing, for example, techniques to measure plutonium in spent fuel from nuclear power plants in locations such as Doel and Tihange. SCK•CEN also develops inspection methods for new Belgian nuclear installations such as the future MYRRHA research reactor and geological disposal of high-level radioactive waste.

Rapid detection of nuclear weapons programme

Together with the University of Antwerp, we have developed a list of political and economic indicators that enable us to detect the initiation of a nuclear weapons programme in a specific country at an early stage. Typical examples of indicators include: nature of the regime, alliance with a nuclear weapons state, geopolitical situation, availability of fissile material, etc. This new prevention system will in future also determine which countries can expect more frequent and rigorous inspections by the IAEA.

La sûreté

Non-prolifération:
empêcher la prolifération des armes nucléaires

Pour éviter la prolifération de matériel et d'armes nucléaires (non-prolifération), les combustibles tels que l'uranium et le plutonium doivent être gérés et contrôlés de manière responsable. Le contrôle sur leur utilisation pacifique s'effectue par l'Agence internationale de l'Energie atomique (AIEA). Le SCK•CEN soutient l'AIEA dans le développement de méthodes de contrôle toujours plus efficaces.

Inspections techniques

Le SCK•CEN mène depuis bientôt 30 ans le programme de soutien belge à l'AIEA et développe notamment des techniques pour mesurer le plutonium dans du combustible usé de centrales nucléaires comme Doel et Tihange. De même, le SCK•CEN développe des méthodes d'inspection pour de nouvelles installations nucléaires belges, notamment pour le nouveau réacteur de recherche MYRRHA et le dépôt géologique pour les déchets de haute activité.

Détecter rapidement des programmes d'armes nucléaires

En collaboration avec l'Université d'Anvers (UA) nous avons développé une liste d'indicateurs politiques et économiques qui nous permettent de détecter dans un stade prématuré le démarrage d'un programme d'armes nucléaires dans un pays déterminé. Parmi ces indicateurs, on retrouve la nature du régime, l'alliance avec un état détenteur de l'arme nucléaire, la situation géopolitique, la disponibilité des matières fissiles, … Ce nouveau système de prévention doit permettre de déterminer à l'avenir les pays devant s'attendre à un contrôle plus sévère de l'AIEA.