Safety

Monitoring the safety of nuclear power plants

SCK•CEN plays a significant role in the safe operation of nuclear power plants both in Belgium and abroad. We have built up extensive expertise with respect to the ageing processes of nuclear reactors as a result of our research into fuels and irradiated materials. Ionising radiation in a reactor, for example, can deteriorate structural materials and cause cracks.

Our research is conducted in our BR2 reactor and the laboratory for high and medium level activity (LHMA). Initially we irradiate materials in BR2. The LHMA then analyses the damage and ageing processes. The test results can then be used to accurately predict the service life of nuclear reactors.

Monitoring programme

We receive requests from nuclear power plants at home and abroad to assess the steel components within their reactor vessels. Authorities and operators can then make informed judgements as to whether to continue operating power plants on the basis of our conclusions. The international demand for our advanced monitoring programme is increasing sharply.

The monitoring programme is developed on the basis of test pieces made from identical material as the reactor vessel and welding material. These test pieces are located in capsules between the reactor and reactor vessel. By removing and analysing the capsules at set times we can monitor the deterioration of vessel materials and predict possible future damage.

Longer fuel service life

Our nuclear fuel research enables us to advise energy producers on safe ways in which to extend the service life of their fuels. This reduces the amount of radioactive waste and enables us to use uranium reserves in current reactors with maximum efficiency.

By obtaining a clear understanding of the behaviour of the fuel and develo pment of its properties we have created a situation in which less than 1 in 1 million fuel rods are defective. If a rod becomes faulty we can analyse it and learn more about the causes of these defects, thereby continually improving materials and processes.

La sûreté

Veiller à la sûreté de nos centrales nucléaires

Le SCK•CEN joue un rôle important dans l'exploitation sûre de centrales nucléaires tant en Belgique qu'à l'étranger. Grâce à l'étude de combustibles et matériaux irradiés, nous disposons d'une connaissance considérable sur le processus de vieillissement des réacteurs nucléaires. Le rayonnement ionisant dans un réacteur peut en effet attaquer les matériaux de structure et provoquer des fissures.

Ces études sont menées dans notre réacteur BR2 et dans le Laboratoire de Haute et Moyenne Activité (LHMA). Dans un premier temps, nous irradions des matériaux dans le BR2 et ensuite c'est autour du laboratoire LHMA d'analyser les dégâts et le processus de vieillissement. Les résultats de ces essais sont élémentaires pour prédire avec précision la durée de vie des réacteurs nucléaires.

Programme de surveillance

Les centrales nucléaires belges et étrangères nous ont fait intervenir dans le contrôle de l'acier de cuve des réacteurs. Sur base de nos conclusions, les exploitants et autorités prennent des décisions étayées sur le maintien ou non de l'ouverture prolongée des centrales. La demande internationale d'un programme de surveillance avancé que nous avons développé, est en plein essor.

Pour ce programme de surveillance, nous utilisons des spécimens se composant du même matériau que la cuve du réacteur et le matériel de soudure. Ces spécimens sont logés dans des capsules situées entre le réacteur et la cuve. En examinant ces capsules à des périodes déterminées, nous suivons l'évolution des matériaux de cuve et anticipons d'éventuels dommages.

Combustibles à longévité accrue

Grâce à nos recherches sur le combustible, nous conseillons les producteurs d'énergie quant à une prolongation de la durée d'utilisation sûre des combustibles. Nous réduisons ainsi la quantité de déchets radioactifs et utilisons de manière plus efficace nos stocks d'uranium.

En reproduisant avec précision le comportement du combustible et l'évolution de ses propriétés, nous sommes à même de limiter le nombre d'aiguilles défectueuses à moins de 1 aiguille sur plus d'un million. Une aiguille défectueuse peut aussi être examinée et peut fournir des renseignements sur la cause de la défaillance. Ceci est une manière d'améliorer constamment les matériaux et processus.