Research infrastructure

Nuclear and non-nuclear laboratories

Laboratory for high and medium level activity

SCK•CEN incorporates various nuclear and non-nuclear laboratories. The laboratory for high and medium level activity (LHMA) focuses on the effects of radioactive radiation on materials, for example the ageing processes in the pressure vessels of nuclear reactors or the effects of uranium fission in the reactor fuel. The laboratory has all the necessary infrastructure to handle highly radioactive substances safely, such as hot cells with mechanical robot arms.
This lab contributes to the safety of existing nuclear reactors, to improving the efficiency of nuclear fuel and to the development of materials for new reactor types. We monitor how the constituent parts of current and future reactors – for example the metal reactor vessel – behave in the long term in a radiation environment. The study of defective or intact fuel pins from reactors around the world is also one of the possibilities of this laboratory.

The results from the LHMA are essential to correctly predict the life span of nuclear power plants around the world and to allow their safe and efficient operation.

Other laboratories

SCK•CEN also has a number of other nuclear and non-nuclear laboratories specialising in measuring low radioactivity or radiation protection. Studies in the area of radiobiology, microbiology, radio-ecology, space travel, radiochemistry and dosimetry are conducted in our own specialised laboratories.

Measurements and analyses

Radiobiology, microbiology and radioecology

 

More information on our Science Platform

Infrastructure de recherche

Laboratoires nucléaires et non nucléaires

Laboratoire de haute et moyenne activité (LHMA)

Le Centre d'Etude de l'Energie Nucléaire compte divers laboratoires nucléaires et non nucléaires. Le laboratoire pour haute et moyenne activité se concentre sur l'incidence des rayonnements radioactifs sur les matériaux comme le processus de vieillissement dans les pressuriseurs de réacteurs. Le laboratoire dispose de toute l'infrastructure nécessaire pour manipuler en toute sécurité, les matières hautement radioactives, à savoir les cellules chaudes équipées de bras mécaniques robotisés.

Ce laboratoire contribue à la sûreté des réacteurs nucléaires existants, à l'amélioration de l'efficacité du combustible et au développement de matériaux pour de nouveaux types de réacteur. Nous suivons ainsi de près la manière dont les éléments des réacteur actuels et futurs – par exemple la cuve en métal du réacteur nucléaire – réagissent à long terme dans un environnement de rayonnement. L'étude de crayons combustibles défectueux ou intacts en provenance de réacteurs de par dans le monde, fait également partie des tâches de ce laboratoire.


Les résultats du LHMA sont essentiels pour prévoir de manière correcte la durée de vie des centrales nucléaires et pour rendre l'opération efficace et sûre.

Autres laboratoires

Le SCK•CEN dispose en outre d'une série d'autres laboratoires nucléaires et non nucléaires spécialisés dans la mesure de faible radioactivité ou spécialisés en radioprotection. Des recherches sur le plan de la radiobiologie, microbiologie, radio-écologie, astronautiqueradiochimie et dosimétrie s'effectuent dans nos propres installations.

Mesures et analyses

Radiobiologie, microbiologie, radio-écologie 

 

Plus d'informations sur notre ‘Science Platform’ (en anglais)