Research infrastructure

HADES underground laboratory

Deep beneath SCK•CEN in Mol is a thick layer of clay: the Boom clay. In the search for a solution to the disposal of high-level radioactive waste, SCK•CEN constructed a laboratory 225 metres below the ground. Appropriately this was given the name HADES, the god of the underworld. HADES stands for High Activity Disposal Experimental Site. Via the economic partnership EIG EURIDICE together with NIRAS [the Belgian agency for radioactive waste and enriched fissile materials], SCK•CEN undertakes research in HADES into the feasibility of storing high-level radioactive waste in the deep layers of clay.

Various building phases

Safe and feasible solution

We constructed a number of underground galleries in various stages. The construction of the access shaft started in 1980 and in 2007 we undertook the last extension. The longest gallery measures 180 metres. Over the years we have improved the excavation techniques and developed methods that cause the minimum disruption to the clay layers. At present the most important experiment is devoted to the study of how the clay reacts to the heat from high-level radioactive waste. This experiment is being conducted in a gallery which will be heated with electrical resistance.
Through the experiments in HADES we are studying how clay behaves as a host for radioactive waste under realistic disposal conditions. We have now learnt from over 30 years of study that the disposal of radioactive waste in a clay formation that has been stable for millions of years can be considered a safe and feasible solution. The clay layer forms an excellent retaining structure for the radioactive substances and thus protects people and environment.

 

HADES pictures

Discover more: Technology for the future - Radioactive waste disposal

 

More information on our Science Platform

Infrastructure de recherche

Laboratoire souterrain HADES

A Mol, le sol du SCK•CEN  renferme une importante couche d'argile de Boom. Dans la recherche d'une solution pour le l'enfouissement  sûr des déchets radioactifs de haute activité, le SCK•CEN a construit un laboratoire souterrain, situé à 225 m de profondeur. Ce laboratoire a reçu le nom de HADES, divinité du monde souterrain. HADES signifie High Activity Disposal Experimental Site. Dans HADES et via le groupement d'intérêt économique GIE EURIDICE, le SCK•CEN effectue avec l'ONDRAF, l’organisme national des déchets radioactifs et des matières fissiles enrichies, une recherche quant à la faisabilité et quant aux risques de l'enfouissement des déchets hautement radioactifs dans les couches profondes de l'argile.

Diverses phases de construction

Solution sûre et réalisable

Des galeries souterraines ont été construites en plusieurs étapes. La construction du puit d'accès a démarré en 1980. La dernière extension provisoire a été réalisée en 2007. La plus longue galerie mesure 180 m. Au cours  des ans, les techniques d'excavation ont été améliorées tout comme les méthodes visant à perturber le moins possible les couches d'argile. Pour l'heure, l'expérience la plus importante porte sur la manière dont l'argile réagit à la chaleur des déchets radioactifs de haute activité. Cette expérience est effectuée dans une galerie chauffée au moyen de résistances électriques.
Les expériences dans HADES visent à examiner - dans des circonstances d'enfouissement réalistes - de quelle manière se comporte l'argile face aux déchets radioactifs. De nombreuses études menées durant plus de 30 ans ont démontré que l'enfouissement des déchets radioactifs dans une couche d'argile stable de millions d'années, peut être considéré comme une solution sûre et réalisable. Cette couche d'argile stable maintient parfaitement les matières radioactives et protège ainsi l'homme et son environnement.

 

 

Images de HADES

Plus d'infos: Technologie pour l'avenir - Gestion des déchets radiactifs

 

Plus d'informations sur notre ‘Science Platform’ (en anglais)