Research infrastructure

Reactor BR3: in the process of decommissioning

As a prototype pressurised water reactor, the BR3 (Belgian Reactor 3) was operational from 1962 to 1987. Around the world, pressurised water reactors are mostly found in nuclear power plants. BR3 was the first of its kind in Europe and in the next few years it will be the first on a world scale to be fully decommissioned.

Decommissioning

Europe chose reactor BR3 in order to carry out the first complete decommissioning of a reactor and to enable SCK•CEN to study all its aspects. We developed new methods in-house to ensure safety during the whole of the dismantling process.

The knowledge acquired in the field of radiation protection, radioactive waste and decommissioning techniques enables us to assist in the careful dismantling of nuclear facilities all over the world.

The information also acts as a guideline in the design of new installations in order to ensure that, when they have reached the end of their service life, they can be decommissioned in a safe and efficient way.

 

BR3 pictures 

Discover more: Technology for the future - Dismantling

 

More information on our Science Platform

Infrastructure de recherche

Réacteur BR3: en démantèlement

Le BR3 (Belgian Reactor 3), prototype de réacteur à eau pressurisée, a été opérationnel de 1962 à 1987. Au niveau mondial, les réacteurs à eau pressurisée sont les plus courants dans les centrales nucléaires. Le BR3 a été le premier de ce type en Europe. Dans quelques années, il sera le premier au monde à disparaître totalement.

Démantèlement

L'Europe a sélectionné le réacteur BR3 pour y effectuer en primeur un démantèlement complet et laisser au SCK•CEN le soin d'examiner cette opération sous toutes ses facettes . Nous avons donc développé dans nos murs de nouvelles méthodes pour garantir la sécurité lors du processus de démolition.
La connaissance acquise sur le plan de la radioprotection, les déchets radioactifs et les techniques de démantèlement, nous permettent d'accompagner le démantèlement d'installations nucléaires au niveau mondial.

L’information constitue par ailleurs un excellent fil conducteur lors de la conception de nouvelles installations. Arrivées en fin de vie, ces installations peuvent ainsi être démantelées de façon sûre et efficace.

 

Images du BR3 

Plus d'infos: Technologie du futur - Démantèlement

 

Plus d'informations sur notre ‘Science Platform’ (en anglais)