Research infrastructure

Reactor BR2

Reactor BR2 (Belgian Reactor 2) is amongst the most powerful and flexible research reactors in the world. Since its start-up in 1962 the reactor has operated on uranium with pressurised water as coolant and moderator. BR2 is to undergo a thorough maintenance and modernisation operation until mid-2016. To guarantee a safe and efficient operation, various systems and components will be replaced as a precaution.
 

Nuclear fuel and materials research

 
Radioisotopes

 
Doped silicon

BR2 plays an important role in international research into how materials behave in nuclear reactors. Thus, in the BR2 we irradiate all kinds of nuclear fuels and materials for different types of reactors and the European nuclear fusion programme. Thanks to the intense radiation we are able to study the ageing of irradiated materials. BR2 thus contributes to the safety of existing but also new nuclear reactors.
BR2 is responsible for 20 to 25% of the world’s total production of the most important radioisotopes. On a weekly basis this can amount to 65% when the reactor is in operation. These radioisotopes are essential for the diagnosis and treatment of cancer, for example. We find other applications in industry, such as in systems for monitoring welds and measuring the density and moisture content of different substances.
Doped silicon is produced by the irradiation of silicon, forming a high-grade semiconductor. For a number of applications, irradiation in a nuclear reactor is the only way to produce these components with sufficient quality. This material forms the basic substance for electronic components in, for instance, hybrid vehicles, the locomotives of high-speed trains, solar energy systems and wind turbines.

 

BR2 pictures

BR2 brochure

  

 

More information on our Science Platform

Infrastructure de recherche

Réacteur BR2

Le BR2 (Belgian Reactor 2) fait partie des plus puissants réacteurs de recherche au monde. Depuis son démarrage en 1962, le réacteur fonctionne à l'uranium, avec de l'eau pressurisée comme agent réfrigérant et modérateur. Le BR2 s’apprête à subir une profonde opération d’entretien et de modernisation qui durera jusque mi-2016. Les différents systèmes et composantes seront remplacées à titre préventif afin d’assurer une exploitation sûre et efficace.
 

Recherche de matériaux et combustibles

 
Radio-isotopes

 
Silicium dopé

Le BR2 joue un rôle important sur le plan de la recherche internationale et examine le comportement des matériaux dans un réacteur nucléaire.  Nous irradions dans le BR2 tout type de combustible et de matériau pour divers réacteurs et pour le programme européen de fusion nucléaire. L'extrême intensité du rayonnement neutronique dans BR2, permet d'étudier le vieillissement des matériaux irradiés. C'est ainsi que le réacteur contribue à une plus grande sûreté des réacteurs nucléaires existants.
Le BR2 représente 20 à 25 % de la production mondiale totale de radio-isotopes, voire jusqu'à 65 % sur base hebdomadaire lorsque le réacteur est en fonctionnement. Ces radio-isotopes sont indispensables pour le diagnostic et le traitement du cancer notamment. Les autres applications se retrouvent dans l'industrie: systèmes pour contrôler les soudures et déterminer l'étanchéité ainsi que le degré d'humidité des matières.
En irradiant du silicium, on obtient du silicium dopé qui constitue un semi-conducteur de grande qualité. Pour une série d'applications, l'irradiation dans un réacteur nucléaire est la seule manière de produire des composants d'une qualité satisfaisante. Le silicium dopé est la matière première de base pour les composants électroniques utilisés dans des voitures hybrides, locomotives pour les trains à grande vitesse, panneaux solaires et éoliennes.
 

Images du BR2 

Brochure de BR2

 

 

Plus d'informations sur notre ‘Science Platform’ (en anglais)