Inspiration in Congo

Inspiration in Congo

The project will be implemented in Congo in various phases in cooperation with two local partners: the Centre de Développement rural de Mooto and l’Institut Supérieur de Développement rural de Mbandaka.

We attach great importance to the training and sensitization of the local population. The project is therefore being developed in close consultation with the people, and, in this way, should stimulate small scale entrepreneurship.

For the effective launch of Inspiration on the spot, we have carried out a thorough analysis of all the parameters that are essential for setting up a cultivation culture: local resources (water, composition of the soil, natural additives), climatic conditions, available materials, etc.

Colleagues lend a helping hand

To ensure that the local people could start up an initial test culture we sent off the first samples of spirulina in November 2015. After a few months of observation, two SCK•CEN employees travelled to the Congo to monitor the project on the spot.

On the basis of their experiences and the tests with spirulina in our own test basin at the SCK•CEN, our colleagues in Congo helped with the construction of the basins, the search for suitable water springs, the training and monitoring of the local agricultural department, and much more.

 

 

Inspiration is expanding its area

As soon as the production, harvest and management are running smoothly, the trial project can be rolled out to the 50 participating families. The local health centres will also proactively introduce spirulina as a supplement in the diet of the population.

300 children spread across 50 test families will be given the spirulina as a supplement, and will be monitored by a local health centre for 3 years.

 

Our colleagues have meanwhile returned to SCK•CEN, but continue to closely monitor the project in Congo. Both the production of the spirulina and the results in terms of health are constantly monitored. We hope to be able to expand the project to other regions in the future.

Inspiration au Congo

Inspiration au Congo

Au Congo, le projet se déroule en différentes phases en collaboration avec deux partenaires locaux: le Centre de Développement rural de Mooto et l’Institut Supérieur de Développement rural de Mbandaka.

Nous accordons une grande importance à la formation et la sensibilisation de la population locale. D’où notre volonté de construire ce projet pas à pas en concertation avec les habitants, afin d’encourager également l'entrepreneuriat à petite échelle.

Avant le lancement effectif du projet sur place, nous avons analysé tous les paramètres essentiels à l’implémentation d’une telle culture : analyse des ressources locales (eau, chimie du sol, additifs naturels,… ), des conditions atmosphériques, du matériel disponible,… Nous avons envoyé les premiers échantillons de spiruline en novembre 2015 pour lancer une première culture expérimentale sur place. 

 

Transmission de savoirs

En novembre 2015, nous avons envoyé les premiers échantillons de spiruline sur place, afin de permettre de lancer une première culture expérimentale. Après quelques mois d'observations, deux de nos scientifiques volontaires sont partis au Congo en juillet derner pour y assurer le suivi du projet.

Sur base de leurs expériences et des tests de spiruline dans notre propre bassin au SCK•CEN, nos collègues ont pu aider à construire plusieurs bassins, rechercher les sources d'eau adéquates, mais aussi former et encadrer le centre agricole local.

 

 

Inspiration se déploie

Si la production, la récolte et la gestion se passent bien, le projet test pourra ensuite être implémenté auprès de 50 familles participantes. Les centres de santé locaux introduiront également la spiruline de manière proactive comme complément dans l'alimentation quotidienne de la population.

Quelque 300 enfants répartis sur 50 familles test recevront donc de la spiruline quotidiennement dans leur alimentation. Ils seront suivis pendant 3 ans par un centre de santé local.

 

 

En attendant et de retour sur le sol belge, tous nos volontaires suivent le projet au Congo de près et contrôlent la production de la spiruline et les résultats sur le plan sanitaire. Si le projet atteint son but à l’échelle locale, nous espérons pouvoir étendre cette culture de spiruline vers d'autres régions du Congo.