Legal profile

Legal status

The Belgian Nuclear Research Centre], is a Foundation of Public Utility (FPU) with a legal status according to private law, set up according to the law on "non profit associations" on April 9, 1952, and changed in an Establishment of Public Utility (EPU) on May 29, 1957, approved by Royal Decree of July 23, 1957. By Royal Decree of October 16, 1991 the non nuclear activities were transferred to VITO (the Flemish Institute for Technological Research).

The legal status of SCK•CEN, with some modifications, was confirmed in a Royal Decree of October 16, 1991 (Belgian Official Gazette November 22, 1991). As a result of the law of May 2, 2002 (Belgian Official Gazette December 11, 2002), the legal designation has been modified in “Foundation of Public Utility” (FPU) and on the basis of this law, the new Statutes have been approved by the Board. These new Statutes were approved by the King and published in the annexes of the Belgian Official Gazette from March 27, 2006.

SCK•CEN carries the enterprise number 0406.568.867 (Crossroads Bank of Enterprises (CBE). You can consult the Statutes via http://www.ejustice.just.fgov.be/tsv/tsvn.htm (enterprisenumber/research/list).

Owners, shareholders and operating means

According to its articles of foundation, SCK•CEN is the owner of its assets, built up by its activities or acquired by funding from the public authorities, there are no shareholders. The operational means comprise an annual grant for operations and investments provided on the federal budget and income resulting from contract research and services.

Board of Governors, Scientific Advisory Committee

SCK•CEN is governed by an independent Board of Governors, appointed on the proposal of the Minister of Energy after advice of the federal government. The Minister of Energy has a right of veto on any decisions of the Board of Governors.

Since 1987, a scientific advisory structure, including an International Scientific Advisory Committee, was set up to advice the Board on the long-term scientific strategy of SCK•CEN.

Statutory objectives

SCK•CEN has the assignment to maintain a centre of excellence on nuclear energy and ionizing radiations. Therefore the Centre will:

  • Give priority to research related to safety, radioactive waste management, protection of man and environment, management of fissile and other strategic materials and social implications as part of the pursuit of sustainable development.
  • Develop, gather and spread the necessary knowledge through training and communication.
  • Perform all services that are asked for in the domain in question, especially by the nuclear industry, the medical sector and the government.
  • Make the necessary pluridisciplinary scientific contacts concerning the energy problem.

Within the framework of its objectives, the Centre will, among other things, carry out the following activities:

  • Gather, keep up to date and spread the scientific, technical, technological and socially relevant documentation, acting as a centre of knowledge.
  • Organise the internal and external training on the various nuclear sciences, techniques and technologies, as well as promote the knowledge of them among the population.
  • Exploit its technical and personnel potential to the best of its ability, without interrupting the normal completion of the activities defined in article 3, 1° and this in co-ordination with the other existing nuclear institutions and industries.
  • Carry out activities of supervision, control and maintenance, as well as give technical, scientific and strategic advice.

In order to achieve its aim, the Centre can take all interests in associations, syndicates and partnerships and perform all financial, movable and immovable actions, call for tenders and perform all actions that are directly or indirectly connected to this aim or allow promoting its realisation.

Personnel structure

Personnel is hired with a contract of employment, for a well-defined function. Employment is protected by a collective agreement excluding dismissal for economic reasons. A number of researchers are hired with a fixed term contract. This is mainly the case for PhD's and assignments during the execution of specific services or contracts. As from 1992 the status of Aspirant Scientific Collaborator -ASC- has been created to allow selected candidates to obtain a PhD or a postgraduate degree during a four-year employment at SCK•CEN.

Presently, the global SCK•CEN work force amounts to about 700 employees.

Accountancy structure

SCK•CEN, as a foundation of public utility, is subject to the Law of July 17, 1975 on the accounting and annual accounts of the companies.

According to the analytical accounting, the costs and revenues are followed up horizontally (per programme, per project, …) and also vertically (per division, per department, …) in order to meet the requirements of internal reporting on the one hand and of public authorities on the other hand.

SCK•CEN is subject to specific control by the commissioner-auditor, by the government commissioner(s), by the Accounting Inspection of the Federal Public Office for Economy, Small- and Medium-sized Companies, Self-employed and Energy and by the Belgian State Audit Office.

Contacts

Chairman of the Board of Governors: Derrick Gosselin
General Manager: Eric van Walle
Director Business Development & Support: Ivan Pittevils
Legal Counsel: Stefan Tormans

Co-ordinates

SCK•CEN
Studiecentrum voor Kernenergie
Centre d'Etude de l'Energie Nucléaire
[The Belgian Nuclear Research Centre]

Registered Office:
Avenue Herrmann-Debroux 40
BE-1160 BRUSSELS
Tel. +32 2 661 19 51
Fax +32 2 661 19 58

Operational Office:
Boeretang 200
BE-2400 MOL
Tel. + 32 14 33 25 90
Fax +32 14 31 89 36

Administrative provisions

Corporate name    Studiecentrum voor Kernenergie
Centre d'Etude de l'Energie Nucléaire 
     
Acronym/logo     SCK•CEN 
     
Legal status    Legal person according to private law (Stichting van Openbaar Nut, Fondation d’Utilité Publique, Foundation of Public Utility) 
     
Postal address    Boeretang 200
BE-2400 MOL
BELGIUM  
     
VAT number    BE 0406.568.867  
     
Social security number    RSZ-ONSS 239 614 24  
     
Registration number
Crossroads Bank
of Enterprises (CBE) 
  0406.568.867 

Banking information

Holder of the bank account    SCK•CEN  
     
Legal address     Avenue Herrmann-Debroux 40
BE-1160 BRUSSELS  
     
Name of the Bank    BPOST
Centre Monnaie
BE-1000 BRUSSELS  
     
Bank
Account Number
BIC CODE
SWIFT CODE
IBAN CODE
  BPOST
679-0061914-28
PCHQBEBB
PCHQBEBB 
IBAN BE37 6790 0619 1428

Profil légal

Statut juridique

Le Centre d'Etude de l'Energie Nucléaire (SCK•CEN) est une Fondation d'Utilité Publique (FUP) à statut de droit privé, fondé comme Association Sans But Lucratif, le 9 avril 1952 et transformé en Etablissement d’Utilité Publique (EUP) le 29 mai 1957, approuvé par l'Arrêté Royal du 23 juillet 1957.

Par l'Arrêté Royal du 16 octobre 1991, les activités non nucléaires ont été transférées au VITO (Vlaamse Instelling voor Technologisch Onderzoek - établissement flamand de recherche technologique). Le statut légal du SCK•CEN a été confirmé, avec quelques adaptations, dans un Arrêté Royal du 16 octobre 1991 (M.B. 22 novembre 1991). Suite à la loi du 5 mai 2002 (M.B. 11 décembre 2002), la dénomination légale du SCK•CEN a été modifiée en « Fondation d'Utilité Publique » (FUP) et, sur base de cette loi, les nouveaux Statuts on été approuvés par le Conseil d'Administration. Les Statuts approuvés par le Roi ont été publiés dans les Annexes du Moniteur belge du 27 mars 2006.

Le SCK•CEN porte le numéro d'entreprise 0406.568.867 (Banque Carrefour des Entreprises - BCE). On peut consulter les Statuts via http://www.ejustice.just.fgov.be/tsv/tsvn.htm (numéro d'entreprise/recherche/liste).

Propriétaires, actionnaires et moyens de fonctionnement

Conformément à son acte constitutif, le SCK•CEN est propriétaire des actifs dont il dispose et acquis en cours de ses activités ou par l'appui financier des autorités. Le SCK•CEN n'a pas d'actionnaires. Les moyens de fonctionnement comportent une dotation annuelle pour dépenses de fonctionnement
et d'investissement prévue au budget fédéral et des recettes provenant de recherches sous contrat et de services.
Conseil d'Administration, Comité Scientifique Consultatif

Le SCK•CEN est géré par un Conseil d'Administration indépendant, nommé par le Ministre compétent pour l'Energie, après avis du gouvernement fédéral. Le Ministre compétent pour l'Energie possède un droit de recours sur les décisions du Conseil d'Administration.

Depuis 1987, une structure consultative a été installée, avec un Comité Scientifique Consultatif International, en vue d’assister le Conseil d'Administration en matière de stratégie scientifique du SCK•CEN à long terme.

Objet statutaire

Le Centre a pour tâche de maintenir un centre d'excellence ayant trait à l'énergie nucléaire et aux radiations ionisantes. A ce sujet, le Centre:

  • Effectuera, en priorité, de la recherche relative aux aspects de sûreté, de gestion des déchets, de protection de l'homme et de l'environnement, de gestion des matières fissiles et autres matières stratégiques et des implications sociales dans une perspective de développement durable.
  • Développera, rassemblera et répandra la connaissance nécessaire par la formation et la communication.
  • Fournira tous les services qui sont demandés dans le domaine concerné, notamment par l'industrie nucléaire, le secteur médical et les pouvoirs publics.
  • Nouera les contacts scientifiques pluridisciplinaires nécessaires en matière de problématique énergétique.

Dans le cadre de ses missions, le Centre entreprendra entre autres les activités suivantes:

  • Rassembler, tenir à jour et diffuser la documentation scientifique, technique, technologique et socialement pertinente, en agissant comme un centre de connaissances.
  • Organiser la formation interne et externe dans les différentes sciences, techniques et technologies nucléaires ainsi qu'en promouvoir la connaissance auprès de la population.
  • Utiliser au mieux ses ressources humaines et techniques, sans mettre en péril le déroulement normal des activités définies à l'article 3, 1° et ce en coordination avec les autres institutions et industries nucléaires existantes.
  • Exécuter des activités de contrôle, de vérification et d'entretien, ainsi que donner des avis de nature technique, scientifique et stratégique.

Pour la réalisation de son objectif, le Centre peut prendre tout intérêt dans des associations, syndicats et sociétés, effectuer toute opération financière, mobilière ou immobilière, entreprendre toute adjudication et faire toute opération qui a rapport directement ou indirectement avec cet objectif ou est de nature à promouvoir sa réalisation.

Structure du personnel

Le personnel est engagé par un contrat de travail pour une fonction spécifique. L'emploi est protégé par une convention collective de travail excluant la démission pour des raisons économiques. Unnombre de chercheurs sont engagés avec un contrat à durée déterminée. Il s'agit ici principalement de doctorats et d'assignations lors de l'exécution de services ou contrats spécifiques. Depuis 1992 le statut d'Aspirant Collaborateur Scientifique - ASC - a été créé pour permettre à des candidats sélectionnés d'obtenir un doctorat ou post-doctorat pendant un emploi de 4 ans au SCK•CEN.

Actuellement l'effectif global du personnel du SCK•CEN s'élève à environ 700 travailleurs.

Structure de la comptabilité

Le SCK•CEN, en tant que Fondation d'Utilité Publique, est soumis à la Loi du 17 juillet 1975 portant sur la comptabilité et les comptes annuels des entreprises.

Conformément à la comptabilité analytique, les dépenses et recettes sont suivies horizontalement (par programme, par projet, ...) et verticalement (par division, par département, ...) afin de répondre aux exigences du rapportage interne, d'une part, et des autorités de tutelle, d'autre part.

Le SCK•CEN est soumis au contrôle spécifique du commissaire réviseur, du (des) commissaire(s) du gouvernement, de l'Inspection comptable du Service Public Fédéral pour l'Economie, les Petites et Moyennes Entreprises, les Classes Moyennes et l'Energie, et de la Cour des Comptes.

Personnes à contacter

Président du Conseil d’Administration: Derrick Gosselin
Directeur Général: Eric van Walle
Director Business Development & Support: Ivan Pittevils
Legal Counsel: Stefan Tormans

Coordonnées

SCK•CEN
Studiecentrum voor Kernenergie
Centre d'Etude de l'Energie Nucléaire
[The Belgian Nuclear Research Centre]

Siège social:
Avenue Herrmann-Debroux 40
BE-1160 BRUXELLES
Tél. +32 2 661 19 51
Fax +32 2 661 19 58

Siège d'exploitation:
Boeretang 200
BE-2400 MOL
Tél. + 32 14 33 25 90
Fax +32 14 31 89 36

Provisions administratives

Nom officiel   Studiecentrum voor Kernenergie
Centre d'Etude de l'Energie Nucléaire 
     
Acronym/logo     SCK•CEN 
     
Statu légal    Personne légale relative à la loi privée (Fondation d'Utilité Publique, Stichting van Openbaar Nut, Public Utility Foundation) 
     
Adresse postal   Boeretang 200
BE-2400 MOL
BELGIQUE  
     
N° TVA   BE 0406.568.867  
     
N° Sécurité sociale   RSZ-ONSS 239 614 24  
     
Numéro d’enregistrement
de la Banque-carrefour
des Entreprises (BCE) 
  0406.568.867 

Information bancaire

Propriétaire du compte bancaire    SCK•CEN  
     
Adresse légale   Avenue Herrmann-Debroux 40
BE-1160 BRUXELLES
     
Nom de la Banque   BPOST
Centre Monnaie
BE-1000 BRUXELLES
     
Bankque
N° du compte
CODE BIC
CODE SWIFT
CODE IBAN
  BPOST
679-0061914-28
PCHQBEBB
PCHQBEBB 
IBAN BE37 6790 0619 1428